Pro Victoria #8 – The Hidden Edge You Already Have

The Three-in-one Hidden Leadership Edge You Have Now in this Improving Global Economy

Bottom Line Up Front: You have a three-sided hidden edge. It gives you an unfair advantage in this improving global economy. It’s the English language.

Additional Bonus Edge: What does it have in common with the US dollar?

The most incompetent Soccer Coach in Beijing meets The Maltese Ambassador.

Summer, 1998. I was assigned to the US Embassy in Beijing.

I took my children to join an expat soccer team.

Expats—expatriates– the foreigners who live in another country. In Beijing the expats were Americans, French, Germans, English, Japanese, Swedes, Mexicans, Peruvians, Colombians, Finns, Danes, Russians.

You name it. Big expat community in Beijing.

I went to the first meeting. The organizers? A 20-something Canadian and his 20-something American girlfriend.

I knew nothing of soccer. Didn’t want to learn.

Seemed like a lot of effort for little gain.

I introduced myself to the Canadian. He said, “You’re here to volunteer to be a coach, right?”

I had no intention of volunteering to coach.

I said, “Sure. OK.”

He laughed.

I continued, “I know nothing about soccer but if I can help out I’d be happy to learn.”

He looked at me. He nodded. Pause.

He said, “Great. Great. Thanks a lot.”

He handed me a whistle, a clipboard, a pen. I was now The Most Ignorant Soccer Coach in Beijing.

I signed my children and started paying attention.

I met the other coaches. I met my players. I don’t remember how old they were.

They were little. They came from all over the world. They were great.

Here’s what I do remember.

A dignified, fit man in late middle age. One of his children was on my team. We shook hands. He told me he was the Maltese Ambassador to China.

Hidden value meets bold action.

He had been a Soccer Coach for many years. I think he had some experience in the Olympics (either coaching others or playing soccer in the Olympics). I asked if he would be an Assistant Coach.

He said yes.

Next I met a soccer-playing Swede. He was tall and had a winning smile. Tanned, confident, Nordic face.

Very fit and friendly. He played very well.

He and the Maltese Ambassador both played very well.

I asked him if he would be an Assistant Coach.

He said “Yah, sure.”

I was now a Soccer Coach who knew nothing about soccer in an international youth sports league.

I was ably assisted by two men who knew volumes more than I and had years of experience playing what I learned is an elegant, exciting and rewarding game.

A Canadian tells me what’s funny.

I became very fond of the Canadian. He told me something based on his own experience.

It was interesting.

Halfway through the season we were laughing about Rugby.

I played very briefly and terribly in college, but loved the camaraderie. He had played considerably better I think.

We were swapping stories.

“You know what’s funny?” he said.

“No. What’s funny?”

“That first day we met. I asked you to be a coach”

“Yeah.”

“Do you know the one group of people who will volunteer, roll up their sleeves and jump in to help and learn even if they don’t know a lot about the task? Do you know who that group is?”

“No.” I had no idea. Maybe soldiers. Sailors. Marines.

He said, “People who speak English. It sounds crazy but it’s funny. Americans, Canadians, Australians, Kiwis, English, Scots, Irish, Welsh… I see it a lot. They’ll show up and say, ‘Sure. Happy to help. What do I need to learn? What do I need to do?’”

What is it about English? Why is English the global language of leadership?

In my time I have spoken French, German, Chinese. English is my mother tongue.

I don’t know if it’s true that English speakers are more prone to jump in and help out.

There are lots of reasons it may seem true but not be. He certainly believed it.

It seems to be true.

Experience tells me this: Frequently people want men to make a decision and take responsibility.

To lead.

Leading takes confidence. Speakers of English do seem to have confidence.

Sometimes misplaced. Sometimes not well founded. But we tend to be confident and optimistic.

Confidence and optimism can take you a long way, brother.

The three reasons that are common to English and the US dollar: Supply, velocity, facility.

Here’s why English is your hidden edge and what it has in common with the US dollar.

Supply.

Like the US dollar, which is the glue that holds the global economy together, English is in great supply. It’s all over the place and it embraces and uses all other languages.

Velocity.

People exchange English cheerfully and quickly. Like the US dollar we are all willing to use English with each other.

Facility.

Let’s face it. English is easy to speak. Easy to learn. Not easy to speak well, but easy to speak to get your message across. The dollar is easy to use and so is English.

Soccer, English, the US dollar. It’s all a blur of laughter and learning in this expanding global economy. Jump on in, the water’s fine.

Call to action: Google “supply times velocity” and take 10 minutes to study the importance of how supply times velocity applies to currency.

Let us know how we can help you increase your options in the global economy. Email me at shannon

Stay strong and well

Post Source Here: Pro Victoria #8 – The Hidden Edge You Already Have

Leave a Reply

